A Letter To My Dearest Friends

 

img_6737

   August 27th 2016

Hello Friends,

(credit to Elizabeth ツ)

I feel likes it’s been so long since I left the absolutely historical A-Town, and said good-bye, slash see you soon.

But it’s only been around three months, which is aaalmost 5 months, so half of 10 months, so pretty much 10 months, which means that time is going to fly by soo quickly and in no time I will have lived the same amount of time back in Germany, as I have spent with the bestest team ever, and in Aiken. And that. That just seems way too little of time spent on/in/for/with(?) a life I miss very dearly. I think about you and it every. single. day.

But moving on from my reminisce, I hope that you are doing absolutely amazing and are killing current XC season (there’s nothing else I would expect tbh).

And so many of you are FREAKING SENIORS now. THAT is insane (and probably very much work loaded, as I would imagine, but I bet you are killing that as well).

Now that everybody is reading this letter (is someone reading it out loud or are you passing it around? I’d love to know right now), it seems like you successfully got the clues right and I am glad that it took this long, because I did not know where and how to start this letter and it took me forever to begin.

I really can’t explain how much I miss you.

Ya’ll (yes I did it, I can imagine David freaking out a bit here) are the coolest friends ever. So good news first (only ever good news in this letter though), get your guest bedrooms ready, because someone will be house hopping…kinda soon?!

I wanted to surprise as many people as I can, especially ALL the teachers, including John and Kayla (and you guys). I’m not sure if I want to keep my visit a secret or not. I gotta think about it. So please keep it low for now. I’ll tell you more soon.

I don’t have dates yet either.

However I will tell you soon enough, so we can make plans to go to the Big Mo and the Food Moe and to the roof of every mall near us.

I can’t wait!! (How’s the Aiken Mall doing btw?)

The moment I was back in Germany, my thoughts were already on the next plane back. Assuming that they ever left. Which I don’t think so.

I’m sorry if (more like that) this letter is not the big surprise everybody was hoping for. But the Aiken City Council just didn’t like my plans for the statue (apparently James Francis Byrnes’ is more important, but I totally agree). (also, it took me forever to find out his name)

I just miss the team so much.

Post-race Moe’s.

Crazy bus rides with awesome music.

Frelicia’s and Fredricka’s dancing and crazily wonderful personalities. (side note, I am the person who is best at whipping and nae nae’ing’ here, can you imagine that, lol?!)

Car rides with you, Biz.

Shrek references. Chilly Dillies and the Big Mo.

Ultimate Frisbee (I don’t have time to practice here, so don’t judge me when I come back).

Jaleel’s crazy, fluffy hair.

J squared.

Almost getting run over in downtown Aiken, because that is where we stupidly have to do long runs and/or because talking is much more fun than watching traffic…Squeeze away much?

Karlie’s bow or when David’s dad (greetings!!) wore her tutu.

Lunch together and when the tinfoil FINALLY was wrinkle-free. Endless fights about oreos?!

Mr. Luton’s test-prep game, when David took soo long to answer but still got the point. (I could’ve answered (at LEAST) twice meanwhile..)

I feel like going on like this forever.

But to get to the point.

Being back in Germany now, thinking back, I could easily spent at least junior year at AHS and not be bothered by the still very old buildings one bit. I miss my life with you and I would have never wanted to leave. Honestly, I don’t understand how it possibly could make sense to ONLY have one year of your life for that experience. I want to come back RIGHT NOW. (Let me just check my calendar, we still have 16 days of summer break, I’ll see what I can do)  ツ

Soo, to end this letter now..we better stay in touch. For runs and car rides and movies.

Lots of Love

xxx

Sophie

P.S: I’m still working on the bestest watch tan there is.

P.P.S: Also, I wanted to write this by hand but I’m pretty sure it would have been the real struggle.

enter comment

